11 September 2019

Eurobodalla and Bega Valley Surf Life Savers in running for NSW Awards of Excellence

| Ian Campbell
Start the conversation
Far South Coast Surf Life Savers. Photo: Surf Life Saving Far South Coast Facebook.

Narooma Life Savers, always ready to respond. Photo: Surf Life Saving Far South Coast Facebook.

A field of 177 finalists has been named in the 2019 Surf Life Saving NSW Awards of Excellence – including a swag from the Eurobodalla and Bega Valley.

The awards highlight Surf Life Saving’s best and brightest. The ceremony on August 31 looks to take these hardworking boys, girls, men and women from the sands of their home beach to the spotlight of Dockside, Cockle Bay Wharf, in Sydney.

The awards celebrate the accomplishments of members, clubs and branches in the 2018/19 season across all aspects of the movement.

Surf Life Saving NSW CEO Steven Pearce AFSM says, “the Surf Life Saving NSW Awards of Excellence celebrates the incredible people in our organisation and the impact they have on their clubs, members and their local communities.”

There will be 25 awards presented on the night with Far South Coast Branch represented strongly:

  1. Port Authority Surf Lifesaver of the Year – Andrew Holt, Pambula SLSC
  2. Volunteer of the Year – Wendy Law, Broulee Surfers SLSC
  3. Youth Surf Lifesaver of the Year – Jai Curvin, Bermagui SLSC
  4. Administrator of the Year – Sue Hunt, Bermagui SLSC
  5. Youth Volunteer of the Year – Connor Leayr, Pambula SLSC
  6. Services Team of the Year – Bermagui Call Out Team
  7. Branch of the Year – Far South Coast
  8. Trainer of the Year – Sharon George, Tathra SLSC
  9. Innovation Award – Development of Joint Operations Search and Rescue Capability, Far South Coast Branch
  10. Official of the Year – Glenn Bywater, Narooma SLSC
  11. Coach of the Year – Neil Innes, Batemans Bay SLSC
  12. Youth Athlete of the Year – Elli Beecham, Narooma SLSC
  13. Surf Sports Team of the Year – Phoenix, 180 years Women’s Boat Crew, Batemans Bay SLSC
  14. Lifeguard of the Year – Morgan Smith, Bega

Surf Life Saving NSW Membership Manager Claire Bevis says that, “while many of our members have previously received awards at a branch-level, it’s a wonderful opportunity for us to acknowledge their achievements at a state-level in front of the wider lifesaving community.”

For a full list of finalists from around the state check the SLSNSW website.

Start the conversation

Daily Digest

Do you like to know what’s happening around your region? Every day the About Regional team packages up our most popular stories and sends them straight to your inbox for free. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.